I love chai tea. I love getting an iced chai with raspberry syrup at Starbucks. I love drinking amaretto vanilla chai with all the glorious foam at our local coffee shop, The Steaming Cup. A few summers ago, Baskin Robbins had a chai cookie dough flavor of ice cream. I loved that, too. Some of my fondest memories include chai. And even though it’s been a hot and icky summer, I’ve been enjoying some yummy instant chai at home.

Truffles are a nice alternative to baking cookies or brownies on a hot summer day. I like that I can make something sweet and chocolatey without having to turn my oven on. On a 90-something-degree day like today, I prefer not to watch the cats melt into the carpet. All week I’ve been toying with the idea of making truffles. But, I was feeling uninspired. I have found quite a few recipes online for all kind of truffles, but none of them were calling out to me. Then it hit me.

Chai truffles!

I did a Google search, but to no avail. The type of truffles I wanted to make were the cookie dough dipped in chocolate kind. Not the ganache rolled in cocoa powder kind. If ya know what I mean. I hope you do. So, after searching through the truffle recipes I had saved, I found this one: http://www.loveandoliveoil.com/2010/01/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough-truffles.html

It’s a simple, but delicious-looking chocolate chip cookie dough truffle recipe. This is where my inspiration finally kicked in. I can use the above recipe, and modify it a bit to make my chai truffles. Now, I haven’t made the chocolate chip cookie dough truffles yet, so I’m unfamiliar with the recipe, but I’m just too excited not to dive right in with my adjustments.

Here is the process, and the results:

I like the idea of using different spices to make up the chai flavor, but I didn’t have most of them on hand. What I did have was instant decaffeinated chai. I cut the flour down to 2 1/4 cups, and used 2 1/2 tablespoons of the instant chai. But that comes later.

My (current) favorite instant chai. Decaffeinated *and* sugar free!

First, you beat together 2 sticks (1 cup) of room-temperature butter, 3/4 cup granulated sugar, and 3/4 cup packed brown sugar until fluffy. FYI – I used unsalted butter.

Beat together 2 sticks (1 cup) of butter, 3/4 cup white sugar, and 3/4 cup packed brown sugar until fluffy. Make sure your butter is at room temperature!

Then add 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/3 cup of milk, beating until mixed. Add 2 1/4 cup of flour, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, and 2 1/2 tablespoons of instant chai mix. You can add more or less chai mix, depending on your tastes. The great thing about these truffles is that there are no eggs. So you can do a little taste test without any worries!

Add 1/3 cup milk, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 2 1/4 cup flour, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 baking soda, and 2 1/2 tablespoons of instant chai (more or less to taste). Beat until incorporated.

Now comes the time to wait. Cover your bowl of truffle yumminess and stick it in the fridge for at least an hour. It should be pretty firm, so that you can work with your hands. Now, using an ice cream scoop, melon baller, or your hands, form the dough into 1-inch balls, placing the balls onto a cookie sheet covered with parchment or wax paper. I used a cookie scoop and left the bottoms of the balls flat. That’s just an aesthetic choice on my part. If the dough gets too sticky to handle, stick it back in the fridge for a few minutes until it firms up.

Let the truffle mix sit, covered, in the fridge for at least an hour. Then, using a melon baller or your hands, place 1-inch balls of dough on a cookie sheet lined with wax or parchment paper.

More waiting time! Stick the cookie sheet covered with truffles in the freezer and let them chill for about 30 minutes.

Let the dough chill in the freezer for 30 minutes.

Next, melt 12 oz of chocolate chips, or candy coating according to directions on the package. I used 12 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I usually put my chips in a glass bowl and microwave them for 30 seconds first. Then microwave them in 15 second increments, stirring in between until fully melted. You don’t want burnt chocolate!

Microwave the chocolate for 30 seconds, then stir. Keep heating for 15 seconds a time, stirring in between until fully melted.

Now it’s time to dip! Roll the truffles around in the chocolate until covered. Use a fork the shake off the excess chocolate.

Dip the truffles in the melted chocolate until coated. Use a fork to shake off the excess.

I’m going to be honest with you. It’s 4 minutes til midnight, and I have an early morning appointment tomorrow. I got lazy. I didn’t dip all of my truffles in chocolate. *gasp* I know. But the truffles will hold until tomorrow, when I have more time. Here’s a scrumptious close-up to make up for it.

Don’t they look delicious?!

I’m really going to enjoy these chai cookie dough truffles, with or without chocolate! I hope you enjoy them, too! Here’s the recipe with my adjustments:

Chai Cookie Dough Truffles

Ingredients:

  • 
1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, room temperature
  • 
3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 
1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 
1/3 cup milk
  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons instant chai
  • 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1.    Beat butter and sugars and in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add milk and vanilla. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt and mix on low speed (or by hand) until incorporated.
2.    Cover and chill dough for 1 hour.
3.    When dough is firm enough to handle (it may help to lightly flour your hands), form dough into 1″ balls and arrange on a baking sheet lined with waxed paper. Place sheets in freezer and let chill for 30 minutes.
4.    Melt chocolate chips in the microwave 30 seconds at first, then in 15 second increments. Using forks or a dipping tool, dip cookie balls into melted chocolate to cover. Tap fork on side of pan to remove any excess coating, and return to waxed paper-lined baking sheets. Chill until set. Store, chilled, in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

