Don’t let the lack of updates fool you. I have been cooking and baking up a storm! For example, one week in March (7 days in a row) I cooked homemade meals every night. Well, a combination of crock pot meals and other on-the-spot meals. Another time, I made 2 cakes and 1 banana bread in one night. Now, for some of you that might not seem so strange. But for me, that’s a lot of cooking/baking progress. Want to see what I’ve been making?

I thought so. ;D

First up is the Strawberry Lemonade cupcakes I made for Jeremy’s house warming party. Original recipe: http://thecakeblog.com/2011/07/strawberry-lemonade-cupcakes.html

I have a confession. I absolutely hate zesting lemons. Also, I love lemon goodies, which usually 9 times out of 10 require lemon zest. So, with these I got a bit lazy. I used more of the dry lemonade mix and some lemon juice (not fresh… I know! I’m bad.) in the frosting. They still turned out awesome and everyone had lots of compliments for them. We had not a one left over at the end of the night. Success!

Image

As you can see, I also got lazy with making mini cupcakes, so I made some regular sized ones, also. This worked out well, as some people wanted just a bite, and some people wanted a whole cupcake. Mostly, our guests wanted a whole cupcake after trying the bite-sized ones. They were just that yummy!

Next up is the Crock Pot Hawaiian Meatballs recipe from Six Sisters’ Stuff. Original here: http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2012/04/slow-cooker-hawaiian-meatballs-recipe.html

Image

This was a super easy recipe to make. I used frozen turkey meatballs, and it turned out delicious! Served over white or brown rice, and you have a scrumptious meal!

Image

I could not, of course, get the sauce to thicken. But I think that’s more of a result of my crock pot than the recipe. We poured the juices over the rice, which absorbed the flavors really well. 10 out of 10!

#3 on the list is the Peanut Butter Banana Bread! Original recipe here: http://skinnychef.com/recipes/pb-banana-bread

Not much to say on this one. Super simple, super delicious. Even Jeremy, who isn’t particularly fond of peanut butter, enjoyed it.

Image

Next is Four Cheese Macaroni. Here’s the link: http://sweetteaandskyscrapers.com/2012/10/20/accidental-four-cheese-ranch-maccaroni/

Now, I’m not going to lie. I didn’t use brick cheese. I used the goat cheese, the cheese soup, and shredded cheddar. It was still amazing. Jeremy loved it, but he loves most anything with cheese in it. I also used rotini noodles instead of penne.

Image

#5 and #6 on my list of yums: Orange Creamsicle Cake and Red Velvet Poke Cake. Recipe here: http://www.betterrecipes.com/blogs/daily-dish/2012/08/28/three-ingredient-low-fat-creamsicle-cake/ and here: http://www.recipebyphoto.com/country-cooks-poke-cake/

ImageImageImage

Doesn’t that look yummy?! And with only 3 ingredients, it just couldn’t be easier. I’m looking forward to making this one again with a different kind of juice for different, albeit yummy, results!

ImageImageImageImage
The red velvet poke cake was fantastic! I didn’t add the crushed Oreos on top, just because that was my personal preference. The only thing I’d recommend is to make it when it’s going to be eaten all in one go, like a party. It was certainly edible a few days after, but the pudding made the cake kind of soggy, and it lost a bit of its glamor. I’m sure the Oreos would have been moist after a few days, too. Definitely one for the cookbook, though! Here’s a picture of both cakes after they were done:

Image

Last, but not least, for this entry is the Cherry White Chocolate Pudding Cookies: http://chocolatechocolateandmore.com/2013/01/cherry-white-chocolate-pudding-cookies/

These are fantastic.IMG_20130227_210824Super easy to make (do you see a pattern here?), and easily one of my favorite cookies to make. Ok, really they’re one of my favorite cookies to eat. Definitely. Again, a huge hit with everyone I shared them with. They’re lucky I shared at all. ๐Ÿ˜›

Well, that wraps things up for this entry. I have a few more things to post in different blog entries, so look forward to that! Take care!

